The Ironic Turn
Sep 26, 2003 - Nov 30, 2003

The Ironic Turn


September 26 – November 30, 2003

Artists will be in attendance.


John Armstrong    Carmelo Arnoldin    Paul Collins    Lucy Hogg    Janet Jones

Garry Neill Kennedy    Brigitte Radecki    Yvonne Singer   Max Streicher

Curated by Lelah Ferguson and Ruediger Bender.



The Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art is pleased to present the second venue for our internationally touring exhibition, The Ironic Turn. The Ironic Turn, guest curated by Lelah Ferguson and Ruediger Bender, takes place at faux-mouvement, in Metz, France from September 26 to November 30, 2003, and features work by 9 established artists from British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Quebec.


Despite the diverse range of media represented in this exhibition, one of the common characteristics of these works is their art historical and art theoretical self-referentiality.  By referring to European traditions of art history and visual culture, these artists offer surprising “outside” perspectives on European culture. This approach, and the lively imagistic and inter-textual interplay apparent in the work becomes embedded with multiple ironies of both North American and European artistic strategies and culture.


The Ironic Turn is organized and circulated by the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art, in partnership with Kunsthalle Erfurt, (Erfurt, Germany), where the exhibition debuted from July 6 to August 24, 2003, and will travel to MOCCA in Winter 2004, and to the Owens Art Gallery, (Sackville, New Brunswick), in the Spring. An illustrated, multi-lingual publication will be available in Fall 2003.


While attending the opening reception for the exhibition in Erfurt, Mr. Jean Fredette, Counsellor of Cultural Affairs for the Canadian Embassy in Berlin, declared The Ironic Turn to be “a milestone in German – Canadian cultural relations”.


The exhibition, tour and publication is supported in part by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, the Canadian Embassy in Berlin, Thueringer Ministerium fuer Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, Stiftung Kulturfonds Berlin, and Sparkasse Mittelthueringen.